the mediterranean sea area

The Mediterranean Sea area

The Mediterranean Sea is an intercontinental sea located between Europe and Africa. It spans between the Straits of Gibraltar and Israel from the East to the West, and Slovenia and Libya to the North and South.

It has a maximum length of 2,510 km (1,560 mi) and a maximum width of 1,280 km (795 mi). The surface area of the Mediterranean Sea is 3.7 million square kilometers (2.6 million sq mi) and it has an average depth of 1,515 m (4,988 ft). The Mediterranean Sea is home to many endemic species including seahorses, dolphins, whales and tuna. With crystal-clear turquoise waters and white sand beaches along its many coasts, the Mediterranean Sea is no doubt one of the most attractive seas on Earth.

The Mediterranean Sea is bordered by a total of 22 countries: Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Greece and the Greek Islands, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel/Palestinian Territories, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria.

The Mediterranean Sea made up of several smaller sea regions

  • The Alboran sea
  • The Balearic sea
  • The Ligurian sea
  • The Tyrrhenian sea
  • The sea of Sicily
  • The Adriatic
  • The Ionian sea
  • The Aegean sea
  • The Libyan sea
  • The Levantine sea

Choose your Mediterranean destination:

Greek Islands